Press Releases
New governor now heads the TIPC in Bohol


Bohol, Philippines. The newly elected governor in the Province of Bohol recently assumed leadership of the Bohol- Tripartite Industrial Peace Council (BTIPC).

Governor Arthur C. Yap now sits as the new chairman of the BTIPC after former governor and now 1st District Representative Edgar M. Chatto turned over the key of responsibility to the former, who was represented by Judge Carlos Fernando during a simple turn-over ceremony held at the Panda Tea Garden Suites, Tagbilaran City.

Chatto was very optimistic of the future of the council saying that he could foresee more promising developments in the coming years most especially in the Tourism Industry in Bohol.

During his stint as the council Chairman, the Provincial Government of Bohol made the allotment and approval of the annual budget for the BTIPC top priority. The council was also visibly seen and felt in all DOLE-related activities especially during the conduct of the Labor Day Celebration and other programs that are in support to the prevention and elimination of the child labor such as the Project Angel Tree.

According to DOLE-7 Regional Director Salome O. Siaton, the DOLE lauded the efforts exerted by Congressman Chatto as the then-BTIPC Chairman and added, “All the contributions made by the BTIPC under the leadership of Congressman Chatto did not go unnoticed. And for that, we are very grateful. We’re confident that with Governor Yap being the new Chairman, the council will still be able to sustain its strength and vivacity.”

The BTIPC has five (5) sub-sectors including that in the Academe; Tourism; Construction and Related Services; Wholesale and Retail; and the Anda-TIPC.

Capping the turn-over ceremony was the election of the new sets of officers of the council itself and that of its sub-sectors.

The following were elected as representatives of the BTIPC’s management sector, namely: Leoncio Plazos of JJ’s Foodland Corporation as Chairperson; Romeo Uy of Jojie’s Bakeshop as Vice-Chair;  Joann Pinos of Florencio’s Caltex Station as Secretary; Christine Agbayani of AH Shoppers Mart Inc. as Treasurer; and Felicidad Mellejor of NICO Agency as Auditor.

Leading the labor sector are the following, namely: Clint Ingles of BLCI as Chairperson; William Gamorot of TACPEWA-AWATU/Coca Cola as Vice-Chair; Imelda Lacea of ASC-EU as Secretary; Ma. Luz Lucip of MFIEIU as Treasurer; and Jocelyn Calvis of BQUWA as Auditor.

For the government sector, the following were elected as follows: Leonardo Cirujales of Pag-IBIG Fund as Chairperson; Ligaya Castillo of BIPC as Vice-Chair; Ma. Soledad Balistoy of DTI as Secretary; Maria Teresita Bitoy of DENR-PENRO as Treasurer; and Eddie Manginsay of DAR as Auditor.

The Sub-Sectors in Tourism, Academe, Construction and Related Services, and Wholesale and Retail also elected their new sets of officers. The officers of the Anda-TIPC, on the other hand, retained their positions as they were only organized just last year.

Assistant Regional Director Lilia A. Estillore, representing Director Siaton, graced the event and provided updates on Tripartism and the TIPC functions.

One of the functions of the TIPC is to formulate proposals and recommendations on labor, economic and social concerns and to monitor the full implementation and compliance with provisions of tripartite instruments and social accords. Major DOLE issuances and issues on labor and employment are being processed in the TIPC as well.


End//LSenarlo-Taniza with reporting from HPizaña of Bohol Field Office


For more information on this report, you may contact Luchel SenarloTaniza, Regional Labor Communication Officer at telefax number (032) 266-2792 or you may send an email at


"We stand committed to satisfy the public with a caring and responsive service."
Contact us:

Your Email


(Maximum characters: 50)
You have characters left.

Your Message

(Maximum characters: 300)
You have characters left.